Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last year following Hurricane Sandy I went to several hard-hit areas in New Jersey and New York to document the destruction, the struggles, and the humanity of what this powerful natural disaster did.

I wanted to commemorate this one year anniversary with some photos I didn’t share on my blog. I think I was just burned out at that point, thinking about, writing about, looking at the aftermath… my heart just broke for all affected.

These are from Far Rockaway, New York about 3 weeks after the storm.

Time permitting I will be making a return trip here, and to the other places I visited to see what it looks like today.

These are from the bayside. Notice the boat and remains of a houseboat.

IMG_6691

You can see straight underneath the house to the bay.

IMG_6694

These boats were washed up a good 40 feet from the current bay level.

IMG_6695

Ocean side was terrible. The boardwalk was gone, only the old concrete handball courts broke up the landscape of construction vehicles and sand.

This one was used to make a political statement.

IMG_6586

IMG_6550

IMG_6626

IMG_6569

IMG_6594

IMG_6593

IMG_6640

As I moved away from the beach, I met this man – a volunteer who was concerned for my safety. He offered me a hard hat and a reflective vest. He asked me if I did photography for a living, I told him no, I’m a singer, and he burst out in song. I can’t remember what we sang, but clearly it was a good tune!

IMG_6606

This volunteer told me “I’m glad you’re here. Take lots of pictures. People need to see this because we need help out here.”

IMG_6598

It was REALLY cold and rainy and these guys just weren’t dressed for it. They were taking shelter out of the wind and the rain.

IMG_6567

I started to make my way across what would be the street to the residential area.

IMG_6619

IMG_6611

IMG_6633

IMG_6672

IMG_6642

All of these cars were completely drowned in seawater.

IMG_6686

IMG_6690

The whole city was without power or water. I don’t know how people did it.

IMG_6667

IMG_6671

IMG_6659

IMG_6654

IMG_6656

If there was a silver lining to my experiences here it was meeting all the folks who were there to help.

IMG_6651

IMG_6649

This was a lovely bunch manning the mobile library.

IMG_6678

I’ll let this sum up this entry:

IMG_6608

