Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I trekked to one of the tallest points in the county I live in, which also happens to be in the Pinelands, away from all the light pollution that comes with being so close to Philadelphia.

Hiking to our destination, I took some photos on the trails.

IMG_3524

IMG_3526

IMG_3529.

IMG_3534

Then it was on to the Fire Tower for photos of the sunset, and the main attraction of the evening, Mercury, Venus, and Jupiter arranged in a triangle in the sky, or, for the sciency types (like me) the technical term is a planetary conjunction.

IMG_3564

IMG_3560

IMG_3585

I had the pleasure of meeting a lovely family who was there for the same purpose. The husband, a photographer, let me use my tripod because I had forgotten mine. They even gave us a lift to my car so we wouldn’t have to hike over a mile through the woods in the pitch black.

My photograph was featured on Accuweather!
accu

