Tags

, , , , , , ,

I went out to go visit my Colorado BFF and got in a couple of adventures before I returned home. Once again we had a mascot that posed for us!

Our first explore was a bust. We got stuck in a ditch over 9,000 feet above sea level in a cell dead zone. After trying to dig the car out with a windshield scraper I decided to get a big stick. The mountain had a nice sized dead tree so I climbed up a pretty steep incline to break it off to use to dig/pry the car out. I totally biffed it! After the tree broke I did a full blown backwards somersault down the mountain, barely missing a huge, potentially hazardous metal pole. Fortunately there were no witnesses! After quite a time trying to get the car free, Dee and I found one of the few inhabited homes somewhat nearby and offered us a tow out. These lovely people offered us breakfast and tea while we waited as well as some great conversation.

IMG_7586

Eventually we made out way to the Eastern Plains. A hotel I was looking forward to seeing got cleared out so not much more than a few pics of the inside and a couple of mascot shots for posterity is all we came away with.

IMG_7608

IMG_7609

IMG_7610

I can’t tell you how much I missed this lady!

IMG_7612

IMG_7628

IMG_7618

Across the street was a crust old gas station.

IMG_7601

IMG_7589

IMG_7602

I think some sort of owl lived in this building because of the unbelievable amount of rodent bones.

IMG_7593

IMG_7604

Before we left this town with a population you could count on your hands and feet I saw this. I need a sign like this for my house:

IMG_7632

Next stop was a couple of small houses with some pretty awesome treasures inside.

IMG_7635

IMG_7636

IMG_7640

IMG_7644

IMG_7670

Then just down the way was a very old General Store with some amazing finds inside.

IMG_7646

IMG_7648

IMG_7650

IMG_7653

IMG_7655

IMG_7656

IMG_7664

IMG_7658

IMG_7661

IMG_7659

I can’t wait for more exploring as the weather improves and I get my new camera!

