Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I cannot describe how AMAZING it is to go on vacation to see a friend who not only has many of the same interests, but wants to just go balls out adventuring and make a damned good time of it.

She wanted to go exploring and I was quite happy to oblige! First stop was a huge hospital complex that was shut down. EPIC FAIL – but not for a lack of trying, that’s for sure! It was shut up tighter than a camel’s ass in a sandstorm. So conceding defeat, my bud snapped a picture of me in front of the first building to ever thwart me.

Abandoned orphanage, CO

So after that disappointment we decided it would be fun to move on to a sure bet: a lonely, wide open abandoned orphanage. We had a little left of daylight, so basement pics weren’t possible and I totally missed a building because I was soaking in every detail of the main one but overall, I am thrilled with what I got. Being the generous chick she is, I once again got to play with a couple of her primes. I will get a zoom lens to have one, but I’m totally hooked on the primes. I believe I used the 50mm and the 35mm here. It was nice to try several different kinds I finally have a good understanding of my needs for what I like to photograph. I’m gonna score a 20mm 1.4 for Christmas to accommodate all the tiny spaces and low light goodness.

For some reason I think some are missing from the set. I have 6 gigs of photos to be sent via dropbox so this is just what I’ve uploaded to Flickr while I was there. As always, you can always check out and follow, subscribe, watch or whatever they call it to my photostream because there are things I post there that I don’t blog about.

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

