Tags

, ,

So my self imposed goal is to learn one new thing about photography every week. While surfing my favorite website of its kind youarenotaphotographer.com I came across this gem:

I am sadly right at the first tripod tick.  Yup… that’s right.  I’m movin up – gettin me a tripod!  Mostly because last time I went to Eastern State Penitentiary I was unable to capture some of the low light stuff because a. lack of tripod and b. changing the iso settings did nothing but give me a bunch of grainy ass underexposed pics.  So it’s either a tripod or a better lens.  Tripod now, lens later.  I’m not made of money.  But I digress…

So I saw on this little timeline “The HDR Hole”.  I think my photog buddy explained this to me once but seeking a refresher I googled that.  I came across this definition:

“In image processing, computer graphics, and photography, high dynamic range imaging (HDRI or just HDR) is a set of techniques that allow a greater dynamic range between the lightest and darkest areas of an image than current standard digital imaging techniques or photographic methods. This wide dynamic range allows HDR images to more accurately represent the range of intensity levels found in real scenes, ranging from direct sunlight to faint starlight, and is often captured by way of a plurality of differently exposed pictures of the same subject matter.”

Come again?

It’s gonna take me a little longer than a week for this one…

