Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lately I have been struggling with photography.  If you’ve read through more than a few of my posts you’ll see I’m kind of everywhere.  Nature, urbex, architecture, portraiture… it’s because much like nurses will work in different specialties to find their passion I have had to do the same thing to figure out where I want to spend my energies.  There are thousands of mediocre photographers and I just don’t *do* mediocre.  Uninspired attitude begets uninspired photographs and I just don’t want to publish mediocre work.

My biggest problem has been wanting more from photographs.  Yes, that’s a cool abandoned prison, that’s a pretty flower, that’s a nice landscape but I’m feeling la-di-dah about it.  A unique angle, a well-lit subject, a neat camera effect is desirable but I want more of me in my work and I’m not talking self portraits.

Today I came across the work of Kristy Mitchell.  I have seen lots of similar work but I was really moved by this photograph.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/05/17/article-2145760-13220DF9000005DC-91_470x600.jpg

kirstymitchellphotography.com

I remember when I was recently at some ruins in the pine barrens thinking to myself “I wish I had something to pose on those arches.”

IMG_3108

Life growing from this beautiful form – I know now where I want to go.  I have a lot to learn along the way – but Rome wasn’t built in a day.  Until then I promised myself to keep taking photos of anything that suits my fancy.  I will allow myself to make mistakes, to take risks, and to quit beating myself up.

Photo: "allow yourself to make mistakes"... it's tough when you're your own worst critic!
Thank you to all who read my little blog and supports me along the way.
