Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Our little road trip began with a couple failed attempts at an FM receiver (one was wrong type, the other just sucked) so we’d be able to listen to some tunes from Dee’s phone.  It wasn’t until we got to BFE, we found a little truck stop convenience store.  They had Red Bull, coffee, snacks, trucker showers, and a miniature Best Buy complete with EXACTLY the device we needed.  Oh, and a 3 foot tall Barbie.

Dee: “If that weren’t $17 I’d totally get that to be the mascot of our trip.

Me: “Well I’m on vacation, so fuggit… I have money to blow on just this kind of shit”

So while Dee fiddled with the receiver, I proceeded to position the barbie in the back of the car in a way that may not have been suitable for children, and we were on our way.  Wanna see pictures of Barbie?  Well… you’re gonna have to wait.  Those come later :D

First stop on our epic road trip was Walsenburg.  We were trying to find the power plant there and from what we knew it was “off the highway”.  Well… we sure as hell couldn’t find it BUUUUT we did find this lovely abandoned high school.  I totally achieved a POE – problem was it was a straight 15 foot drop.  My tripod, with the monopod (or as I called it before Dee corrected me, “The single stick in the middle of the legs… haha Beavis) fully extended on the end of a damned strap wasn’t touching the ground.  I have a rule: no entry without access to an exit.  Scaling that wall was NOT gonna happen so, for the second time, Colorado pwned me.

We decided to move on to Ludlow, and, as it turns out the highway that the power plant was visible from was NOT the one that we were looking on. On our way to Ludlow, racing a setting sun… we passed it.  “Tomorrow.”

We got to Ludlow and I will say… I was underwhelmed.  I was expecting this cool ghost town, it was more like some sparse tiny ramshackle houses in the middle of some rolling hills, cacti, and some nondescript giant piles of poo.  But the buildings once we looked inside made it TOTALLY worth it!  We had some laughs at the barbed wire fence (let’s just say she was super excited…. so much so she almost left me!) and we had a field day photographing and exploring. The first set of buildings were next to some neato slides.  This is where I came to find out later that I had left the camera bag with the 50mm lens – you know… the lens and bag that didn’t belong to me.  More on that in a minute.  Here’s from the first group:

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Abandoned orphanage, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

So after getting stabbed by a cactus and slipping, occasionally falling on those giant viscous turds we moved on to the next ones down the lane.

Ludlow, CO

May I take your order?

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

Ludlow, CO

That last one was a quickie shot on the way out. We were in a hurry because a very official looking truck drove past and having nowhere inconspicuous to park, and the fact that we left the barbie straddling a fence pole it was obvious we were around. So I’m strapping barbie to the roof and Dee’s quickly packing up and here come Parks & Rec with the land owner in tow. We explained we were taking pictures (true) of our barbie (true) in front of cool places (also true) and after some nice convo and laughs when I asked for them to hold the barbie for a picture we left. Ohhhh… but remember that camera bag? We went back, the guys were still there and the owner gave me permission to go back and get the bag. They call me Teflon Dawn for a reason. Stay tuned for more asshattery… :)